BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF)	ORDER GRANTING
TERRACOM INC. DBA MAXSIP TEL FOR)	INTERVENTION
DESIGNATION AS AN ELIGIBLE)	
TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIER IN THE)	
STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA FOR THE)	
LIMITED PURPOSE OF PROVIDING LIFELINE)	
SERVICE TO QUALIFYING CUSTOMERS	TC23-041

On August 4, 2023, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a Petition by TERRACOM INC. dba Maxsip Tel (TERRACOM) for Designation as an Eligible Telecommunications Carrier (ETC) in the State of South Dakota. TERRACOM is seeking ETC designation for the limited purpose of providing Lifeline services to qualifying customers.

On August 10, 2023, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of August 25, 2023, to interested individuals and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filing electronic listserv. On August 10, 2023, the South Dakota Telecommunications Association (SDTA) filed a Petition to Intervene. On September 1, 2023, TERRACOM filed a stipulation between itself and SDTA.

The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26 and 49-31 and ARSD 20:10:01:15.02 through 20:10:01:15.05 and ARSD Chapters 20:10:24 and 20:10:32.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on September 6, 2023, the Commission considered SDTA's Petition to Intervene. TERRACOM did not appear at the meeting. Commission staff stated they did not object to the intervention. The Commission found that the Petition to Intervene demonstrated good cause to grant intervention and voted unanimously to grant SDTA's Petition to Intervene. It is therefore

ORDERED, that SDTA's Petition to Intervene is hereby granted.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 8th day of September 2023.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically or by mail.

By:

OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Chairperson

GARY HANSON Commissioner

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner